The Ikuno mining town stretches about seven kilometers along the Ichikawa River. From the Himemiyabashi Bridge visitors can look across the river at an assortment of homes and buildings from different eras, some dating to the Edo Period (1603–1867). Four of the oldest homes have been renovated and are open to visitors free of charge. The Shimura Takashi Museum preserves homes built for Mitsubishi company workers from the Meiji (1868–1912), Taisho (1913–1926), and Showa periods (1926–1989). A local specialty is “hayashi rice,” a dish similar to beef stew served with rice. Its heavy Western influence dates from the time when French engineers were living and working at the Ikuno mine.
Cultural Property Data：
|Spot Name||Ikuno Mining Towns (Cultural landscape of Ikuno Silver Mine and townscape)|